Where are the Galapagos Islands?

The Galapagos Islands (or Archipelago de Colon) make up a Province of Ecuador.  They are located 600 miles (1000 kilometers) directly west of the Ecuadorian coast on the Equator.  They were formed from underwater volcanoes, with the oldest islands in the southeastern section of the archipelago.  The nineteen islands vary widely in flora, fauna, size, and landscape.